Wagtail Space 2018

Train, talk, listen, sprint and fly!

The next Wagtail Space will take place from 13 to 15 March 2019 in Arnhem, The Netherlands.

Wagtail Space brings you Wagtail (lightning) talks and a Wagtail sprint. There is room for over 50 attendees. To make sure you won’t only be working, there are a few social events, for example a closing party on Friday evening.

All Wagtail enthusiast are welcome, regardless of their role. If you are a beginner, we will get you up and running, more advanced developers can dive in deep. There will be Wagtail core developers attending.

Talks & Sprint


On Friday there will be Talks (15min + 5min Q&A) and Lightning talks (about 7 min). 

If you like to give a (lightning) talk let us know.

So far, the following people have offered to speak:

  • Lisa Adams - Developing progressive technology for low-end devices
  • Bertrand Bordage - Crowdfunding Wagtail
  • Matt Wescott - Let It Go
  • Tom Dyson - The Word Problem
  • Kevin Chung - How Google uses Wagtail CMS content API to optimize publisher workflow
  • Daniele Procida - Dockerised Wagtail hosting and reusable applications on Divio Cloud


During the sprint we will improve the Wagtail core. The exact sprint goals are not decided yet. They won't be fixed until the sprint kickoff session. That said, think of your favourite issue/feature you like to improve.

Please add any ideas you have regarding the sprint, such as things you'd like (other people) to work on, to this document.


Wednesday 13 March 2019

09:00 - 18:00 Sprint

Thursday 14 March 2019

09:00 - 18:00 Sprint

Friday 15 March 2019

13:30 - 17:00 Talks

Location & Facilities


The sprint will be held at the Four Digits Office, located in the city centre of Arnhem. We have room for over 50 attendees. There are a lot of hotels/B&B's close to the office. If you need any help finding a suitable place to stay let us know and we'll gladly assist you.

We have wireless network on a fiber connection. We also have a shower, fully equipped kitchen, washing machine, and we're close to both the main parks and the city centre.


To take your mind off the days of hard work and make you even more productive, we will organize some amusement. 

Stay tuned for more information on this subject!


Four Digits wil provide everyone with food and drinks. All attendees can join us for breakfast and lunch.

Travel & Hotels


These hotels are all within walking distance of our office. If you can't find a suitable hotel let us know and we'll help you find one:

  • Hotel Arnhem Centraal
  • Hotel Haarhuis
  • Hotel Molendal
  • Hotel Old Dutch
  • Hotel Blanc
  • Bordeaux B&B
  • Hotel NN


Our office is at a 10 minutes' walk from Arnhem Central Station. View on Google Maps.

From Schiphol Airport (AMS), take the Intercity to Nijmegen (1h13m, every 30 mins). 

Book your train e-ticket at ns.nl.

Questions? sprint@fourdigits.nl.

Sign me up!

Would you like to join us? Please sign up for Wagtail Space!

If you can not attend the whole event, join just for a couple of days. Please indicate which days you'll be joining, so we can plan accordingly.

Attendance is free of charge.

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact us.


Name Github nickname Company Dates
Thijs Kramer thijskramer Four Digits 13th, 14th, 15th March
Ludolf Takens ltakens Four Digits 13th, 14th, 15th March
Kees Hink khink Four Digits 13th, 14th, 15th March
Maarten Kling maartenkling Four Digits 13th, 14th, 15th March
Coen van der Kamp allcaps Four Digits 13th, 14th, 15th March
Ross Curzon-Butler ro5k0 Rosco:77 13th, 14th, 15th March
Rob Moorman robmoorman Moor Interactive 13th, 14th, 15th March
Tom Dyson tomdyson Torchbox 13th, 14th, 15th March
Ralph Jacobs ralphfourdigits Four Digits 13th, 14th, 15th March
Matt Westcott gasman Torchbox 13th, 14th, 15th March
Bertrand Bordage BertrandBordage NoriPyt 13th, 14th, 15th March
Codie codiebeulaine Praekelt 13th, 14th, 15th March
Lisa Adams LisaAdamsPRK Praekelt.org 13th, 14th, 15th March
Janneke Janssen jjanssen Lukkien 13th, 14th, 15th March
Michael van Tellingen mvantellingen Lab Digital 15th March
Pim Vernooij pimvernooij Lab Digital 15th March
Mike Dingjan mikedingjan Lab Digital 15th March
Jasper Berghoef jberghoef Lab Digital 15th March
Boris Besemer blurrah Lab Digital 15th March
Paul Stevens pjstevens Lab Digital 15th March
Rajeev J Sebastian rajeev Alokin Software Pvt Ltd 13th, 14th, 15th March
Mike Overkamp MikeOverkamp Four Digits 13th, 14th March
Alex's Mathilda AlexsMathilda Lukkien 13th, 14th, 15th March
Marco Westerhof mwesterhof lukkien 13th, 14th, 15th March
Henk-Jan Henk-JanVanHasselaar Lukkien 15th March
Robin van der Rijst rvdrijst Fabrique 15th March
Lucas Moeskops lucasmoeskops Fabrique 13th, 14th, 15th March
Lars specialunderwear McDonalds 13th, 14th, 15th March
Marko Kruijer markokruijer Fabrique 15th March
Alejandro Garza alejandrogarz Fabrique 13th, 14th, 15th March
Duco ddokter Hoogst Merkwaardig 13th, 14th, 15th March
Kim Chee Leong kcleong Python United 13th, 14th, 15th March
Wietze Helmantel helmantel PythonUnited 13th, 14th, 15th March
Huub Bouma huubbouma PythonUnited 13th, 14th, 15th March
Roel Bruggink jaroel freelance 13th, 14th, 15th March
Tony Yates tonyyates Vix Digital 13th, 14th, 15th March
Damon damonjagger VIX Digital 13th, 14th, 15th March
Thibaud Colas thibaudcolas Työtoimistot ja elinkeinotoimistot palvelut 13th, 14th, 15th March
Daniele Procida EvilDMP Divio 13th, 14th, 15th March
Chris Shaw v9Chris VIX Digital 13th, 14th, 15th March
Furkan Akmese moorinteractive Moor Interactive 13th, 14th, 15th March
Tom Hendrikx whyscream Four Digits 13th, 14th, 15th March
Kevin Chung google Google 13th, 14th, 15th March
Harm Zeinstra nebulosar Lukkien 13th, 14th, 15th March
Dennis Willems spaceghost-nl Dezzign 15th March
vincent VdeJong Fabrique 15th March
Mark Dibbets DrDibbets Fabrique 15th March
Xavier xavierfabrique Fabrique 15th March
Simon de Haan smn Praekelt 15th March
Sander Tuit SanderTuit Androidworld 13th, 14th, 15th March
geert jan hoogeslag geertjanuwkm UWKM 15th March
temoeri Temoeri UWKM 15th March
Stefan Bomhof stefanbomhof UWKM 15th March
Mario Fabi Mario UWKM 15th March
Joey Kerkdijk joeykerkdijk UWKM 15th March
Jan de Boer uwkmjan UWKM 15th March
Stefan Jilsink StefanJilsink UWKM 15th March


Do you want to help sponsor the event? Sponsor options: Snacks, Lunch, The Party. Contact us at sprint@fourdigits.nl.

Four DigitsPythonUnitedFabriqueDivo

House rules

In short: be nice to each other.